Lena Zaidel – Recipient of the Shoshanah Ish-Shalom Award for Artwork, 2016


The Wolf of Branches 2, 2015, iron, branches, 72X140X44, Photo: Dima Noff

Jury Statement / Ronit Sorek, Maya Israel, Lilakh Raziel

Presenting the reasons for the choice of Zaidel, the members of the board the Shoshanah Ish-Shalom Award – Ronit Sorek of the Israel Museum, the artist Maya Israel, and the representative of the Ish-Shalom family, Lilakh Raziel – wrote: “The image of the wolf stands at the center of Lena Zaidel’s drawing for the last two decades. The expressive wolves that she presents roam about the Jerusalem streets in the series, “All Places are Holy,” as a tangible reminder of the hidden powers and processes taking place in the city. A figure of a wolf made of twigs, surprising in its material and its power, was presented before the award committee. Zaidel copied the texture of the dry pastel that she used in her paintings onto a three-dimensional work thickly woven and forming a “drawing” in space, continuing her multi-line drawings. The use of twigs, a seemingly simple material, and the way in which they were woven, reminds us of folk art. But the surrealistic image that she has created is comprised of layers of various cultural and political meanings. The absurd combination created in the drawings of Zaidel, who “plants” her wolves within the urban scenery of Jerusalem, facilitates a constant reflection upon the role of an artist as a presenter of an absurd reality, as well as a sounder of an alarm against it. Paradoxically, specifically the delving into the sights at the periphery of the city emphasize Zaidel’s love of what is depicted, of Jerusalem, whose sacredness has been secularized, and perhaps the opposite, as arises from the series of drawings. For the artist’s ability to broaden the boundaries of drawings into the three-dimensional image and to reformulate it in sculpture, we have found her deserving of receiving the Shoshanah Ish-Shalom Award.”


Erev Rav – Independent Internet Magazine for Art, Culture and Society, edited by Ronen Eidelman and Yonatan Amir
(published on: 15.12.2015, 10:30)


  The Wolf of Branches Wolf 1, 2015, iron, branches, 52X88X36, Photo: Dima Noff


From right to left:
Amitai Mendelsohn, Lena Zaidel, Zila Ish Shalom, Ronit Nirel. Ish Shalom Adward Ceremony, 6th Jan. 2016
The Jerusalem Artists´ House

 From right to left: Lena Zaidel, Amitai Mendelsohn, Ronit Sorek, Zila Ish Shalom, Ronit Nirel. Ish Shalom Adward Ceremony, 6th Jan. 2016
 The Jerusalem Artists´ House

Lena and Oded Zaidel and The Wolf of Branches 3. The Ish Shalom Adward Ceremony, 6th Jan. 2016
The Jerusalem Artists´ House



Gideon Ofrat 2024

Lena Zaidel, 2023

Rina Genussov, 2022

Nava T. Barazani 2022

Michal Shaknai Yakobi 2022

Lena Zaidel, Sasha Okun 2021

House on the Bridge 2021


Lena Zaidel 2020

Barry Davis 2020

Bat-Sheva Dori 2020



Rina Genussov 2019


Yossi Waxman 2018


Shosh Averbukh 2017

Gideon Ofrat 2017

Alejandera Okret 2017

Lena Zaidel 2007-16

S. Ish-Shalom Award 2016

Oded Zaidel 2015

Gideon Ofrat 2013

Albert Suissa 2013

Karine Levit 2013

Yonatan Amir 2012

Zeev Bar-Sella 2012

Shosh Averbukh 2008

Zeev Goldberg 2007

Monica Lavi 2006

Leviathan Group

Measurements are given in centimeters, height width
All the reproduction photos of Lena Zaidel's artworks in this website,
are taken by Michael Amar, unless otherwise noted.

All rights reserved to Lena Zaidel copyright 2008-2023